“Taking It Easy” OR “How To Get Your Groove Back”.

Posted: October 14, 2014 in Advice, Personal
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

We’ve all done it before. Taken some time off from training due to some unforeseen circumstances, only to come back like a fiend and be forced off of training again because we got a little excited and went a little too hardcore. It happens. A LOT. We’re only trying to make up for the lost time, right? Unfortunately, this can lead to injuries that can cause us to lose even more valuable training time. Right now, you’re probably thinking, “If you’re so smart, then what’s the secret to getting back to the level that I left off at?” Well, I’ll tell you. THERE IS NO SECRET~!!! Ta-daa!

Seriously, if anyone knows about being forced to take time off from training, it’s me. Injuries, financial reasons, burned out, work, etc. You name it, I’ve probably been through it. Hell, I’m going through one of those reasons right now. If you’ve been following me on this Blog or Twitter, then you know that I haven’t stepped foot onto a Mat in a few months. Before you say anything: Yes, not being on the Mats is driving me crazy. However, it’s not as bad as it used to be when I was younger. Here’s the thinking that I use nowadays to help put things into perspective:

“Life is always in a state of flux. Training is a constant. It will always be there for you when you are ready to go back.”

See? Makes sense, right? Do what you need to do first. Don’t treat training like it’s going to disappear if you don’t immediately go “balls to the wall” when you come back. It’s great that you love what you do, but don’t get overzealous and risk being separated even longer. Ease back into it. For instance, I just started doing Conditioning again. Kept my first workout very simple. Nothing fancy. For those of you who are interested in what I did, here you go:

Push-Ups, Pull-Ups, Bodyweight Squats, Jumping Jacks, Football Tosses, Baseball Bat Swings.

(Those last 2 aren’t fancy names for exercises. I really did use a Football and a Baseball Bat.)

That’s it. Nothing crazy. I didn’t go overboard. However, what I did was start priming my body for more strenuous Conditioning by letting it know that we’re gonna start getting serious again or actually just starting again. Proper progression of your training will insure less chance of injury and burnout. It will also give you the chance to gauge your strengths and weaknesses, so you can properly address them. Now, just because your “physical” training has been temporarily hindered does not mean that your “mental” training should ever stop. You can always visualize your Techs or Conditioning goals. The good thing about this kind of “training” is that you can get very creative by thinking up Flows that you want to try when you’re ready to hit the Mats again or the kinds of Gains that you want to see.

Remember: Training will always be there to welcome you back with open Arms whenever you’re ready. So, stop treating it like it’s a “hit it and quit it” kind of situation.

Happy Training~!!!

P.S. Yes, I know this sounds like some previous Blog posts. However, posting this helps keep me in check and keeps my goals fresh in my mind. If it helps you too, that’s awesome. (^_^)

Leave a Reply

